Halloween and Memories

Yesterday was Halloween, which is a holiday that holds a lot of memories for me. The last time I dressed up for Halloween was my senior year of high school and my life was very different back then, I had different friends and was focused on school and getting ready for college. Yesterday, my roommates and friends dressed up and got half-off burrito bowls from Chipotle, a free donut from Krispy Kreme and a free donut from the Sugar Shack (a local donut shop), just for being dressed up.

Most people feel joy when they walk into a donut shop like Krispy Kreme and are engulfed with the smells of fresh donuts, however when I walked into the shop I was nearly knocked over with a wave of memories that I had put behind me. The summer between graduating high school and starting college, I worked at Krispy Kreme. So many things in my life changed that summer, some good, some not so much. None of those things actually had anything to do with Krispy Kreme, other than that was where a lot of decisions were made.

I am not trying to seem over-dramatic,  but that was a time in my life that I usually try to forget, I feel like I was a totally different person back then. I became someone that summer that I am not proud of. It took a long time for me to forgive the people in my life during that time, including myself, but I have forgiven them.

Leave a Reply

