Ready

“If we wait until we’re ready, we’ll be waiting for the rest of our lives” by Lemony Snicket.

This is one of my favorite quotes. I think we often spend so much time thinking we aren’t ready, when we really are ready. Like being ready to try something new or do something that we have been preparing to do. Somethings are never going to happen or are never going to change until you do it, until you make it happen. That is terrifying sometimes but it is true, we can’t live our lives waiting for someone else to do the things that we want to see happen. Sometimes you just have to try something new, sometimes you will fail but that is okay. Failing is better than never trying.

I think this applies to my life in missions. Some days I think to myself, “What are you doing? You are never going to be ready to do this. Who do you think you are?” but this is something I can’t not do. I am in time of preparedness, I am being prepared for long-term missions in another area of the world. I may not be totally “ready” yet, I may never feel totally “ready” but I can’t let that stop me from doing what I am supposed to do.

Leave a Reply

